I have the dance moves of a mustache, and a singing voice that sounds like a beard on the inside of my cheeks.

My first post about men with beards was almost exactly 6 months ago and was only my sixth post (Kissing a man with a beard is a lot like going to a picnic. You don’t mind going through a little bush to get there!) and it is also the most popular thing I have written about on this blog. So, I thought it was time to review the situation.
Since I last wrote upon this subject my Instagram and twitter accounts are abundant with bearded men, I am often being ‘invited’ to join some form of bearded men appreciation group on Facebook and even the fashion catwalks can’t seem to get enough! So what is it that these careless whiskers have us women blushing and those follically challenged men reaching for the sharpie for?
According to some articles I have read, women see men with beards as someone with a higher social status and looking older. Which may lead us pogonophiles (one who loves/studies beards) to see them as more able to provide for our unborn children…”Darwin posited that beards evolved in human ancestors via female choice as a highly attractive masculine adornment. Others have since proposed that beards evolved as a signal of male status and dominance”.
Although I am not sure this wasn’t clouded by his own bias…
ImageHowever, whatever the psychological reason, men with beards have gone stratospheric.
High street brands such as John Lewis and Primark are also jumping on the band wagon using Johnny Harrington and Billy Huxley in their ad campaigns.
ImageThe fashion world in general is heaving with facial hair. Tom Ford, the fashion designer and film director can be seen sporting some stubble, whilst Justin O’Shea (an Australian buyer for mytheresa.com) has one almighty manly beard. The world of fashion mixing highly tailored looks with striking juxtaposing facial hair, they’re definitely on to a winner. Smart, rugged and manly.
ImageAnd don’t just think that these men are being lazy and letting their stubble get out of hand! Oh no! Wild whisps are being tamed and trimmed and softened with various flavoured oils and waxes. My personal favourite of all the bearded lovelies, Chris Millington (who now lives in Brighton, hurrah!) has recently released his own beard oil that smells of mangoes and vanilla with Apothecary 87. 
ImageThe Beard Barons of Brighton – Are You Bear Face are also helping men conquer their unruly, wiry, musky tresses and aiding us ladies with our search for beaded wonders on their page of Badass Beardies!
ImageIt would appear that my hometown, Brighton, are obsessed with beards and if you are too, no matter where you live, you may want to join the BILF (beards I’d like to fondle!) Facebook page! “If you have a beard, admire beards or are beard-curious, then this is the page for you.”
ImageOnce again, I have not quite gotten to the bottom of why us ladies love beards, although this post offered up a little more theory behind it than the last. Whatever the reason, I think these bearded beauties may be making the ladies wink for a while to come yet. I hear monocles may be the next big trend…my dreams of dandies roaming the streets is ever closer!

(I do not own these images)

2 thoughts on “I have the dance moves of a mustache, and a singing voice that sounds like a beard on the inside of my cheeks.

  1. Pingback: light and darkness combined, playing conscience and reason, until we intertwine | Belle of the Bluegrass

  2. Pingback: You’re everything that I hoped for, that’s why I gave you my all | Belle of the Bluegrass

Leave a comment